Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Frederick Reines [1918-1998]

Department of Physics and Astronomy

University of California, Irvine

Honors and Awards


Center for Theoretical Studies University of Miami

In recognition of his contributions to elementary particle physics the Scientific Council of the Center for Theoretical Studies awards to

Frederick Reines


J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Prize

by Scientific Council Members

January 19, 1981

Coral Gables, Florida


The American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Established by a Law of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, at a Meeting held the eleventh Day of May, 1966 for the purpose of promoting the design of their institution, elected

Frederick Reines

as Fellow of their Society and have granted unto him all the rights and privileges of a Member.

And in Testimony thereof, have affixed their Seal to this certificate, and caused the same to be duly attested.


Frederick Reines

has been duly elected a Member of the

National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America

in conformity with provisions of the Charter and Constitution of said Academy, and hence is entitled to enjoy all the rights of Fellowship in said Academy with all the Liberties, Immunities and Privileges thereunto belonging. In testimony whereof, the said Academy have caused their Corporate Seal to be affixed to this Diploma and the same to be attested by the names of the proper Offices this twenty-second day of April in the year of our Lord, 1980.


The National Medal of Science

is awarded by

The President of the United States of America


Frederick Reines

For the experimental discovery of the free neutrino and the elucidation of its properties and interactions and the testing of fundamental conservation laws of Physics.

1983 Ronald Reagan


The High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society hereby awards the

Bruno Rossi Prize for 1989

to the members of the IMB and Kamiokande high energy neutrino collaborations.

The Prize is awarded for the dramatic and mutually confirming detection of a burst of neutrinos from supernova 1987A, which opened a new window on the cosmos beyond the solar system and provided the first direct data on the high-energy processes occurring in the centers of collapsed stars. Some of the names of the members of the IMB Collaboration include:

Wojciech Gajewski, Todd J. Haines, William R. Kropp, LeRoy Price, Frederick Reines, Jonas Schultz, Henry W. Sobel and Craig R. Wuest


The Albert A. Michelson

Edward W. Morley Award

presented to

Frederick Reines

Distinguished Professor of Physics, Emeritus University of California, Irvine

"Originator of the Fields of Experimental Neutrino Physics and Neutrino Astronomy"

For his contributions to the first experimental observation of neutrinos, followed by a comprehensive program of studies of neutrino interactions. For his contributions to the testing of the stability of the stability of the proton and of the fundamental conservation laws of matter and charge, and for pioneering measurements of cosmic radiation deep underground. For his contribution to the development of observational neutrino astrophysics by the detection of neutrinos from supernova 1987a in the large Magellanic cloud.

Case Institute of Technology Case Western Reserve University Cleveland, Ohio U.S.A. April 27, 1990


The American Physical Society

W.K.H. Panofsky Prize

Sponsored by Friends of W.K.H. Panofsky

is awarded by The American Physical Society to recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in Experimental Particle Physics.

This Diploma certifies that the 1992 Prize has been awarded to

Frederick Reines

"For his pioneering development of neutrino detection techniques and their applications to fundamental problems in particle physics and astrophysics. Numerous other experiments including the detection of neutrinos from accelerators, reactors, and cosmic rays are direct outgrowths of these developments."

22 April 1992


The Franklin Institute Acting through its Committee on Science and the Arts has awarded

The Franklin Medal


Frederick Reines

For the experimental discovery of the neutrino and the subsequent detailed study of its properties and interactions, including the First detection of neutrinos from a Supernova; and for investigations of the Fundamental conservation laws of particle physics.

And has elected him to Honorary Membership in The Franklin Institute

Philadelphia 29 April 1992


The Russian Academy of Sciences

Basing on its statutes

has elected on

31 March 1994

Frederick Reines

Foreign Member

of the Russian Academy of Sciences

President of the Russian Academy of Sciences

Yu Osipov

The General Scientific Secretary

of the Russian Academy of Science